64th National Film Awards Winners 2017

This article is about the National Film Awards in India. The National Film Awards is the most prominent film award ceremonies in India. Established in 1954, it has been administered, along with the International Film Festival of India and the Indian Panorama, by the Indian government’s Directorate of Film Festivals since 1973.

Every year, a national panel appointed by the government selects the winning entry, and the award ceremony is held in New Delhi, where the President of India presents the awards. This is followed by the inauguration of the National Film Festival, where the award-winning films are screened for the public. Declared for films produced in the previous year across the country, they hold the distinction of awarding merit to the best of Indian cinema overall, as well as presenting awards for the best films in each region and language of the country. Due to the national scale of the National Film Awards, it is considered the Indian equivalent of the American Academy Awards.

History of National Film Awards

The Awards were first presented in 1954. The Government of India conceived the ceremony to honour films made across India, on a national scale, to encourage the furthering of Indian art and culture. Since 1973, the Indian Directorate of Film Festivals administers the ceremony along with other major film events in India annually. It is the highest award given for films in India.

64th National Award: – Akshay Kumar became the best actor of the National Award and Neerja was the best Hindi movie.

Neerja won the best Hindi feature film, today, on Friday, April 7, the winners of the 64th National Film Awards were announced at the National Media Center in New Delhi. Akshay Kumar got the Best Actor Award for Rustom, while Sonam Kapoor, Neerja’s lead actor also specially mentioned by Julie with Adil Hussain and Kadvi Air for Mukti Bhavan. Best Kannada Film was won by Reservation while the Best Marathi Film Award went to Decry. The best Gujarati film goes to the wrong side Raju and the Joker went by the best Tamil film Goes Rajku Murugan.

List of 64th National Film Award winners

  • Akshay Kumar, the best actor of the film, was given the award for the film Rustam
  • Surabhi is the Chief Minister for Best Actress Minaminunj
  • Best Film is Kosav
  • Best Director Rajesh Mopsukar for Ventilator
  • The best movie on social issues is pink
  • Manoj Joshi is the best supporting actor for Dasaki
  • Best Supporting Actress for Dangle is Zaara Waseem
  • The best environment film with agriculture crossed the ‘Tiger’ which crossed the line ‘
  • Best Hindi feature film Neeraja is directed by Ram Madhavani
  • Best Marathi Film Awarded Dashakya
  • Best Kannada movie given for reservation
  • Best Bengali Film got Bisaranjan
  • The award for Best Children’s Film goes to Dhank,
  • Special mention rewards eyes of darkness
  • Best VFX Award goes to Ajay Devgn’s Shiva
  • Indira Gandhi Award for the first director Khalifa (Bengali)
  • Best Action Director and Stunt Choreographer, Peter Haynes for Pulimurgung
  • Priyanka Chopra’s Ventilator won the Best Editing and Sound Mix Award
  • Imam Chakraborty is the best female playback singer Tammy Jack Bhalobaso
  • Best Animation Award goes to Yogyogadi Ram
  • Best Production Design won by Tamil film 24

The best book on cinema was won by Lata Surjata – a book that describes the story of legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar. Of the 33 books presented in written form in the movie, Jury chooses J Dhananjayan as the best film critic. The jury had declared Uttar Pradesh as the most movie friendly state. On the recommendation of the jury, the State of Jharkhand was specially mentioned.

64th National Film Awards

The 64th National Awards jury is headed by Priyadarshan. The director whose film Kanchivaram had won the National Award in 2007 had said earlier, “It’s definitely an honour and a huge responsibility. I have close to 36 years of experience and have done 91 films, so I am hoping to put that to good use.” In 1996, his Kaalapani had fetched Kerala three National Awards.The director had previously chaired the jury for the 2011 International Film Festival of Kerala. Over 300 films vied for the top spot this year. The process to choose the best from Indian cinema began on March 16 and culminated with the announcement today. Earlier, Minister for Information and Broadcasting M. Venkaiah Naidu on Thursday said that National Film Awards provided a platform to showcase the composite and rich culture of India through the medium of cinema.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *